VMware Communities
chuckomoss
Contributor
Contributor

Help! - No Internet Connection on VM after install of AVG anti-virus

Greetings,

I am running MacBook Pro, 2.2 Ghz, 4MG RAM, Host: OS X – 10.5.5; Guest: OS XP Pro. VMFusion 2.01 with the latest install of VM Tools; Also using NAT as my network setting.

I have been using VMFusion for 9 months and have been a big fan. I have read “Understanding Networking in VM Fusion” and the “Beginners Guide to VMFusion” and remember reading that if the Host OS has an internet connection, then the guest OS should also have an internet connection.

My issue is that today I have no internet connection for the Guest OS. What has changed is that I installed AVG 8.0 Free anti-virus yesterday and have run a few virus scans to deal with a virus I received on Wednesday from a supposed Facebook video download. After installing AVG 8.0 Free, my guest OS and internet connection worked fine for over 24 hours, but earlier today after agreeing to “heal” some infected files as part of the AVG 8.0 Free program, I can no longer connect on the guest OS.

I have tried restarting the Guest OS many times. I have shut down the guest OS and the host OS concurrently a number of times. I have disabled and enabled the "VMware Accellerated AMD PCNet" adapter a number of times. I have gone to the DOS command prompt and released and renewed the ipconfig. I even uninstalled AVG 8.0 Free and turned off my Windows firewall. None of these activities allowed me to receive an internet connection on the Guest OS, when I had a connection on the Host OS.

I do have a time machine/time capsule backup and could go to an earlier version pre-virus version if I had to.

Do you have any suggestion on how I can get my Guest VM to connect to the internet?

Thanks in advance,

Charlie

0 Kudos
8 Replies
ChargePlus
Contributor
Contributor