VMware Communities
TenThousandThin
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Hard Disk 2 (SCSI) doesn't appear in Windows Explorer

~ Vista Business runing in Fusion 1.1.1 on Leopard

I've been trying to create a second hard drive. Here's what I've done:

1. Shut down the VM and used Settings to create a "Hard Disk 2" (SCSI, 149.1 GB).

2. When I start the VM up, "Hard Disk 2" appears in the Virtual Machine menu.

However, it isn't active or whatever. It doesn't appear in Vista's "Computer" view. All I see is the C hard drive.

I'm sorry, I guess this shows that I'm a Windows beginner, but I can't figure out how to get Vista to see it, and I'm afraid I will screw something up if I just start experimenting randomly. I need this system to work. Do I need to update the drivers? What am I missing?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Pat_Lee
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

The second virtual hard drive likely is visible to Windows, but just like adding a physical hard drive to a PC, it doesn't have a file system on it by default. You need to format the new hard drive for use.

While I don't have Windows Vista in front of me, so, this is a link to the Microsoft Vista Online Help which will walk you through it:

http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/d9a4d35e-efdf-406c-a049-0860180129a71033.mspx#EF...

Hope that helps.

Pat

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Pat_Lee
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

The second virtual hard drive likely is visible to Windows, but just like adding a physical hard drive to a PC, it doesn't have a file system on it by default. You need to format the new hard drive for use.

While I don't have Windows Vista in front of me, so, this is a link to the Microsoft Vista Online Help which will walk you through it:

http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/d9a4d35e-efdf-406c-a049-0860180129a71033.mspx#EF...

Hope that helps.

Pat

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution