VMware Communities
gipezoza
Contributor
Contributor

HELP! Can't open VM - 'A disk read error occurred' Press Ctrl +Alt+Del to restart - does not respond!

I had to manually shut down my mac as it froze trying to download files from Safari - I was also downloading files in Windows using VMware - so when I restarted my mac all was well but when I tried to open VM, I got the error message above and can get no further. No matter how I respond programme does not respond. Please, please help! Thank you.

0 Kudos
13 Replies
BP9906
Expert
Expert

Is this an OSX error or Windows error? Perhaps you could post a screenshot of the error.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
gipezoza
Contributor
Contributor

Hi! I am new to OSX, and can't determine where the problem originated... I have no idea how to take a screenshot, can you advise? I feel way out of my depth here and appreciate your help very much. Thanks again.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

You can take a screenshot of the entire screen with Command-Shift-3, or select a region with Command-Shift-4. These and other useful shortcuts are under System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard Shortcuts.

0 Kudos
gipezoza
Contributor
Contributor

Okay... please pardon my ignorance, but I was able to take a screenshot (at least I think I did) but could not find where it is stored to paste! Sorry again...I went to system preferences and found the information but couldn't make it work. Argh!

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

By default it should show on your Desktop as Picture n.png where n is a number. (That is if you didn't pick a key combo that puts it on the Clipboard)

Edit: Added Info.

Built-in Mac Screenshot Commands

Key Combination - Result

CommandShift3 Capture entire screen and save as a file.

CommandControlShift+3 Capture entire screen and copy to the clipboard.

CommandShift4 Capture dragged area and save as a file.

CommandControlShift+4 Capture dragged area and copy to the clipboard.