VMware Communities
spambad
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion is eating up all my hard drive space

I'm a newbie so please bear with me.

I have been running Fusion for some time now and originally allocated 50GB of HD space for WinXP. After some time now, I've noticed that the HD space on my Mac (Leopard) keeps growing >100GB now. I have 1 file called XP.vmwarevm but after downloading a utility called vdiskmanager, I noticed that under this file, I have 8 additional files:

564db12....vmem

564db12...vmem.lck(dir) -> M38073.lck -

Black

Applications (dir) -> Various Apps -

Black

vmware-0.og

vmware-1.log

vmware-2.log

vmware.log

XP-000001.vmdk ---Black 49.6GB

XP-000002,vmdk --- Black 26.6GB

XP-Snapshot15.vmem

XP-Smapshot15.vmsn

XP.nvram

XP.vmdk -

Black 22.4GB

XP.vmem

XP.vmsd

XP.vmss

XP.vmx

XP.vmxf

All the other files are grayed out.

The other thing is that I can only view these files using this tool. I can't get to these files whatsoever using the Mac Filemgr or via terminal. There is a utility to defrag the vm but unfortunately I don't have enough space to do this. I've copied all the XP files and I'm about to start the Image again from scratch but I would appreciate it if anyone could give me some pointers so I can avoid this in the future or better yet fix this vm image.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
gently
Contributor
Contributor

Me too ... someone please help.

Roger.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

vdiskmanager GUI is just a wrapper, the actual utility is vmware-vdiskmanager and comes with Fusion. You can get to these files in the Finder by following the instructions in . Terminal should have no problem seeing them. The ones that are black are the virtual disk files, which is what vdiskmanager is intended to deal with (which is why you can't select any of the others).