VMware Communities
Rev_Steve
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion and Parallels question

I've had Parallels installed on my Macbook Pro (2GHz Core Duo, 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM). I just bought Fusion (and also downloaded 1.1 beta since I have Leopard).

Before I go through the whole install of creating a virtual machine with having to install XP, MS Office, WordPerfect all over again, I'd like to ask: do I have to? Is there a way that I can use the virtual machine that Parallels created?

Sorry that I'm a real novice among all you pro's...but the free 30-day tech support email connection still ain't working (error 8048, whatever that means).

Thanks!

0 Kudos
26 Replies
flockacons
Contributor
Contributor

there is a document on how to do this. See the link below. Let us know how it goes.

http://www.vmware.com/support/pubs/fusion_pubs.html

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

There's also a movie tutorial on the process on this page: See "Move Windows Systems to Fusion" on that page.

Both the document and the movie are missing some late-breaking news. Mostly, it's that things still work, even though there's a new version of Mac OS (10.5), a new version of Fusion (1.1's release candidate), and a new version of VMware Converter (3.0.2).

The other key tidbit: due to changes in the most recent build of Parallels Desktop for Macs, it's now worth your while to uninstall Parallels Tools before running VMware Converter. The best way to do that is to do the uninstall, and, when it tells you that it's time to reboot, DON'T. Just let that window sit there while you run Converter.