VMware Communities
jfit4
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion & XBox 360 Streaming

Hi there.

I'm trying out Fusion and what I want to do is have my Vista x64 Boot Camp drive booted up while I'm in OSX so I can stream video files to my xbox 360. I have successfully done this from within my boot camp installation, however, I am unable to via Fusion. I followed the other thread for solutions but to no avail. My computer is able to see the Xbox and I have set up Media Center and am able to connect to it. I am trying to stream files using WMP 11's sharing but the xbox cannot detect it (doesn't even say there is not a computer connected, just doesn't do anything when I click it from the xbox's dashboard). I tried changing the network to bridged but to no avail. Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

You definitely want bridged networking. Other than that, I have no experience with Vista64 or xBox 360 so I can't help you much there. If you're changing to bridged while the virtual machine is running, it probably hasn't gotten a new IP address yet. Renew your IP address or reboot the Vista virtual machine.

0 Kudos
jfit4
Contributor
Contributor

Have done that a couple of times but hasn't worked yet.

0 Kudos
jfit4
Contributor
Contributor

Just a new development on this. Since trying to set up the extender from Fusion, I can no longer even use Boot Camp to watch my shows. I just get an error message on the 360 saying it cannot play this type of file. Incredibly annoying. I think I'm going to end up having to reformat my Boot Camp partition.

0 Kudos
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal

Yea, that would seem to be a Vista problem. I have the older Media Center Extenders attached to my XP-MCE machine that I use as a dedicated DVR. A while back, one of the extenders couldn't communicate with XP and I ended up reloading XP.

0 Kudos
jfit4
Contributor
Contributor