VMware Communities
Ratfink_
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion Pro 13 - Parallels v18 VM Import

Hello All

I am confused a a Long time VMware Fusion ( and ESXi ) user as I have been waiting for a long time for Fusion v13.0

As I needed to continue to work , I was forced to pay for a Parallels v18 License to run my Windows11 Arm VM on my M1 MacBook

Now all I want to do is import the VM I have been using for then past 12+ Months into VMware Fusion v13 Pro so I can continue Working.

This seems to no longer function as the conversion process assumes you are importing an x86 VM ( instead of checking first )

So , I thought , Simple , I will build a new Windows11_Arm VM in Fusion v13 Pro , but this does not work either.  Networking does not function and the Hardware support id Buggy at Best ( and non-existent at worst )

Please VMware , If you are going to release TP 22H2 as a 'Finished Product' , make sure it actually works before charging me US$ 199.00 for the License !!

Tony 

0 Kudos
19 Replies
ddeacon22
Contributor
Contributor

I have been able to get my Win11 Parallells VM imported. I can get it to boot to Bitlocker recovery where I enter the recovery key but once it gets to the Windows login screen, neither the keyboard or mouse work so I can't login.

To get to the Bitlocker screen I needed to do some edit in the vmx file within the VM to address errors and then remove / re-add some devices as well. Just haven't been able to figure out the mouse and keyboard.

0 Kudos
Technogeezer
Immortal
Immortal

@Ratfink_ wrote:

Now all I want to do is import the VM I have been using for then past 12+ Months into VMware Fusion v13 Pro so I can continnue

So , I thought , Simple , I will build a new Windows11_Arm VM in Fusion v13 Pro , but this does not work either.  Networking does not function and the Hardware support id Buggy at Best ( and non-existent at worst