VMware Communities
GeesRiK
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion Networking problem VM XP using the OS X wifi

Hi, i'm very new to all this, so sorry if this has been covered a million times before! (I did search but couldn't find anything!)

I've got the following set up.

Macbook, running OS X, Fusion VM with a Win XP build.

As far as I can tell, the VM XP's network is connected (which as far as I can tell from here, is just a link to the OS X wifi connection... right or wrong?!) but I can't get the VM XP to connect out to the internet at all. Macbook OS X works fine, but not the VM XP!? i've tried it in all modes, Bridge, NAT, HOST! none work! What simple thing am I missing?!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jgl1975
Expert
Expert

Could you please post your os x network config (ip address, mask & default getaway), guest ipconfig /all result and the content of your .vmx file ?

Thanks in advance.

If your vm is in bridged mode, it is indeed just a link to your active physical network connection.

0 Kudos
applisoft
Contributor
Contributor

HI,

i have the same trouble.

I believe it not depending on Vm settings but it is because Fusion connect (for default) to eth0 that normally is ethernet on notebook/desktop. At the same time wifi is mapped on eth1, infact in paralles you can change default by selecting between eht0 (default) or eth1.

So i believe this is a limitation of Fusion, i tryed to submit to VMWARE this issue but web application solve in error try later.

pls try you too and when the first (of us) reach any solution post here.

by,

marco

0 Kudos
dwilson99
Contributor
Contributor

I also have a networking problem. I'm on a MacBook Pro that hosts VMWare running Windows XP. My MacBook connects to an Apple Airport Extreme that provides DHCP. My Macbook has an IP address of 10.0.1.3.

I configured Windows in VMWare to use Bridged Networking, and Windows now has an IP address of 10.0.1.195. I can surf the Internet from Windows.