VMware Communities
benc1
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Fusion 2.0.5 disabling 3d under 10.5.6

This is quite possibly me missing something obvious. I'm new to both the mac and fusion.

I updated to Fusion 2.0.5 and now every time I start a vm it informs me it is disabling 3d due to the ati issue.

The thing is I am running 10.5.6 not 10.5.7 which is from what I understand the OSX release with the buggy ati driver.

Is it me or fusion or both that are confused? Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
bgertzfield
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

This is quite possibly me missing something obvious. I'm new to both the mac and fusion.

I updated to Fusion 2.0.5 and now every time I start a vm it informs me it is disabling 3d due to the ati issue.

The thing is I am running 10.5.6 not 10.5.7 which is from what I understand the OSX release with the buggy ati driver.

Hi benc,

Some Mac Pros shipped with a special version of 10.5.6 with the problematic ATI driver. Are you using a new Mac Pro? That might explain this.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
bgertzfield
Commander
Commander
Jump to solution

Hi benc,

Some Mac Pros shipped with a special version of 10.5.6 with the problematic ATI driver. Are you using a new Mac Pro? That might explain this.

0 Kudos
stuarth20111014
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I've got his problem too with my Intel-based iMac running 10.5.7.

I didn't have any problems with Fusion prior to Version 2.0.5 (173382), now it is painfully slow and completely unusable.

I have the same ATI driver as I had before this VMWare update, so wonder if it is something VMWare can fix by using something in the architecture of a previous version?

0 Kudos
Surajst
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

I have the same ATI driver as I had before this VMWare update, so wonder if it is something VMWare can fix by using something in the architecture of a previous version?