VMware Communities
Thuckemeyer
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion 13.0.1 randomly drops network connection - M2 Ventura 13.2

Hi,

I was able to get my M2 Ventura 13.2 machine running Windows 11 ARM (Insider Build 22598) and everything seems to be working as intended. I don't have Administrative access and am unsure if that's normal, however that's not my issue.

I'm running this Windows machine as a 24/7 media server and it's working intermittently. The network is bridged between the Mac host and windows machine using AutoDetect (I'm using ethernet). The network is fine throughout the day and seems to randomly disconnect in the middle of the night. The network on the host machine is completely fine. The guest Windows machine shows it's connect to ethernet but there is no internet. To fix this, I just reboot VMware and it works again - until it doesn't).

Any ideas on how to fix this? Or even setup some kind of terminal command to reboot the VM machine upon network failure?

I'm new to this so if I need to attach any logs/files please let me know where I can obtain them from.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
ColoradoMarmot
Champion
Champion

So right off the bat, avoid the insider builds if you can.  Get one from uuddump instead.  Instructions for doing that, along with getting it configured properly are well documented in the unofficial guide to fusion (in the documents section of this forum).

To your specific question, there's two thoughts:

- Your access point may not like issuing multiple IP addresses to a single MAC address.  Try NAT instead

- In power preferences set the machine to never sleep, and also set 'prevent sleep when screen blanks'.  Apple has gotten overly aggressive on sleeping machines, and for all that Fusion is supposed to be well behaved at sleeping guests when the host does, there can be race conditions that prevent things from working properly.  

Thuckemeyer
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply!