VMware Communities
frmo76
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion 12 and compatibility with M1 / Big Sur - not relevant any longer

Update : Ok, after some more digging, I finally understand that Fusion is not compatible with M1 chip for the time being. I'll have to find another way to run my old business application. Sorry for the trouble.

Hello,

I'm new at VMWare Fusion, I've downloaded the trial version of Fusion Pro for Mac OS to run an old version of Mac OS (10.6 server). The version 12 is said to be compatible with both Big Sur and M1 chip. I've 2 computers : one iMac Pro running Big Sur and one brand new MacBook Pro with M1 chip also running Big Sur.

The installation runs well on the iMac and the old Mac OS version is running smoothly.

When I try the same process on the MacBook, I get an error (in French) that translates like this: "Fail to activate /Users/myuser/Documents/MacOSX.vmwarevm/Mac OS X Server 10.6 64 bits.vmx'

I've tried to migrate the VM created on the iMac and to create a new VM from scratch using Apple MacOS 10.6 server installer. But it still crashes with the same error on my MacBook. I also tried to install earlier version of Mac OS and even Windows 10 but always get the same message.

Do you have any idea or any suggestion ? I'm glad I did not buy it yet since I tend to doubt the real compatibility of the product.

Thank you for your support

0 Kudos
71 Replies
AndrewP-2
Contributor
Contributor

Yes, I can confirm that despite falsely advertising on VMWares product page that it supports all macs since 2012, the product is indeed not compatible with the M1 chip. I'm currently working with @Mikero to get the marketing issues resolved on VMWares end.

0 Kudos
sleguyader
Contributor
Contributor

Hi 

Have you got an estimate date when Fusion 12 will be compatible with M1 processor and Big Sur OS (in particular on mac mini 2020) ?

thanks

best regards

wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,