VMware Communities
s4man
Contributor
Contributor

Fusion 1.1 Leopard and Bootcamp

I have been trying to evaluate Fusion 1.1 but have not had any luck getting it to see the bootcamp partition. We are evaluating on a 17" MacBook Pro with Leopard 2.4 GHz Core 2/2GB/256MB VRAM.

I have been able to install Parallels evaluation copy with out issue.

I have heard that the evaluation license of Fusion will is not fully functional and will not see the bootcamp partition. Has anyone seen this???? If we try a full license copy will work?

I am new to MAC and have limited knowledge of OSX. We need stability and performance using windows XP Pro and Windows apps.

From what I have read, I get the impression that Fusion is faster and more stable then Parallels, but I have not seen that because I cant run the evaluation copy of Fusion.

I want to make a good decision because what we choose now we will have to live with for some time.

What I have noticed is both Parallels and Fusion have poor support.

0 Kudos
14 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

I have been trying to evaluate Fusion 1.1 but have not had any luck getting it to see the bootcamp partition. We are evaluating on a 17" MacBook Pro with Leopard 2.4 GHz Core 2/2GB/256MB VRAM.

How did you set up the Bootcamp partition (Apple's Boot Camp assistant, fdisk, etc.)? What version of OS X do you have?

I have heard that the evaluation license of Fusion will is not fully functional and will not see the bootcamp partition.

Incorrect, the only difference is that the evaluation is time limited. Where did you hear this?

What I have noticed is both Parallels and Fusion have poor support.

What make you say this?

0 Kudos
mac_pro_user
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I think you have to first install Windows under Bootcamp... Fusion should then list "Boot Camp partition" as an available virtual machine.