VMware Communities
howardr
Contributor
Contributor

Finding Snapshots to restore.

I guess this is sort of a multiple part question.

I'm running Windoes 7 Enterprise edition using both processors,  and a Linux (CentOS) as virtual machines on my MacBook Pro.

I'm a newbie at using Fusion and the Mac so I'm taking 3 snapshot every vew hours.

How can I find a snapshot to recover one or both of the OS's which are running.

Both OS's are running together most of the time.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Gkeerthy
Expert
Expert

Please see the below articles to see the snapshots and adjust the auto protect feature of the snapshot manager.

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=101450...

http://pubs.vmware.com/fusion-4/index.jsp?topic=/com.vmware.fusion.help.doc/GUID-4C90933D-A31F-4A56-...

Please don't forget to award point for 'Correct' or 'Helpful', if you found the comment useful. (vExpert, VCP-Cloud. VCAP5-DCD, VCP4, VCP5, MCSE, MCITP)
0 Kudos
howardr
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your quick reply, I have read the documentation and things are clearer now.

One question left which wasn’t answered by the documentation was this:

Can I make a copy of, let’s say, my Windows 7 machine running in Fusion and migrate it to let’s say my Workstation or VMware Server boxes?

Thanks

0 Kudos
howardr
Contributor
Contributor

BTW, by the same token, can a Virtual Machine created in either VMware Workstation or VMware Server be imported and run in Fusion?

Thanks

0 Kudos
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Can I make a copy of, let’s say, my Windows 7 machine running in Fusion and migrate it to let’s say my Workstation or VMware Server boxes?