VMware Communities
jonheal
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Experience With Installing Linux

First of all, I am a complete Linux newbie, until a few days ago, I had never seen it in operation, let alone used it. But I've been curious, so I decided to create a VM. I chose Ubuntu, because it seems to be a popular distribution, and it's one that shows up in Fusion's list when you step through the wizard to create a VM.

I did a little research before I started, and I found quite a few posts about the issues with installing VMware Tools in Linux. This link appeared to provide a process for successfully installing the Tools that many found helpful:

I decided to attempt to follow the instructions to the letter. It was a little disconcerting because the instructions indicated that it was necessary to install a gcc compiler in Linux in order for the Tools installation process to complete successfully, and yet there was no mention of this in the VMware help file regarding installing Tools in Linux.

Nevertheless, I proceded with the installation. First I installed Ubuntu 7.04 from the .iso file. When the installation was complete, I moved the .iso file to the Trash Can ("ejected" it"), and restarted. Upon restart, Ubuntu's update manager infomred me of about 170 awaiting updates. I let the update manager apply the updates. I then proceded with Sven's instructions to install the VMware tools. This process appeared successful, as well.

When it was all said and done, Linux appeared to be installed okay, but it seemed a little flaky. I experienced a number of Linux application crashes. Screen resolution settings had issues. Overall, it gave me the feeling that something was not quite right.

To make a long story a little shorter, I recreated the VM many times, trying different variations of the process. I tried backing off to Ubuntu 6.06. I tried installing the Tools without installing the gcc compiler first, etc., etc.