VMware Communities
GoStryker
Contributor
Contributor

Enable additional forward/back mouse buttons, now?

This problem was discussed two years ago:

http://communities.vmware.com/message/449260

and closed with an hope for an update of an new mouse driver.

Now two years later...

Is there an answer for this problem?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
15 Replies
WoodyZ
Immortal
Immortal

Yeah Right! ROFLMAO I've been using VMware Products for over 5 years now and the Mouse hasn't change much at all if any in that time and while they continue to make changes to VMware Shared Folders it is still buggy and problematic since its inception too so I wouldn't hold your breath waiting for a new mouse.

0 Kudos
maddymac
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Fusion uses Standard Virtual PS/2 Mouse (with only Left and Right click)

0 Kudos
wpatton
Expert
Expert

Macs have more than one button!?

Sorry, had to add sarcasm to the thread

I would seriously doubt that this addition will be coming as VMWare has to support a lot of hardware and throwing in that support just probably isn't high on the list.

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".

*Disclaimer: VMware Employee* If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".
0 Kudos
Piggy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Try SteerMouse which lets you define how any of the buttons work. I have a bluetooth Logitech mouse that has a center wheel that can tilt left/right and be pressed down. Don't use the Logitech software (uninstall!) and make sure you're not competing with the MAC OS mouse settings (Expose for example). I slide between two Spaces desktops via tilt left/right. It works great.

GoStryker
Contributor
Contributor

Yeah, it work's fine.

Thanks a lot!

The back (delete) and forward (shift+delete) shortcut key are the same as in Windows.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal