VMware Communities
Shaolo
Contributor
Contributor

Direct3D not working properly in Fusion 3, running bootcamp install of Windows 7 RC

Hello,

I want to start off by saying how much I liked Fusion 2.06. I was extremely eager for the Win7 3D support in Fusion 3. Alas, it doesn't work for me. In fact, it's less useable than 2.06. Images and an explanation below.

Setup:

OSX 10.6.1

Windows 7 RC

Altium Designer Winter 09 and Summer 09 (both tested, same results)

17" Apple MacBook Pro Unibody with both integrated and discrete graphics.

I'm an Electrical Engineer. So all the software I use is more or less Windows based. I love my mac, and I prefer to run windows through Fusion if at possible. I use a program called Altium Designer. Altium uses Direct3D for all of their PCB layout drawing routines. Both in 2D and 3D. Using Fusion 2.06 I had issues with these routines. If I wanted to draw a trace, the trace would not be displayed while moving. BUT, the rest of the board was displayed just fine. 3D mode failed to run completely because I did not have a 3D compatible driver.

Install Fusion 3 and everything fails to work. The parts of the board that were being rendered properly before fail completely now.

Here is an example of what the file should look like while using Fusion 2.06: http://img.skitch.com/20091106-si92hg72dchbijuurij252r2w.jpg

Here's what it looks like in Fusion 3: http://img.skitch.com/20091106-f3yqyqyy5d332fahpqjyyn7aqp.jpg

The other issue is how incredibly slow Fusion 3 has become. 2.06 was fast enough to be useable. 3 is slow all around. It makes it painful to use. I've stopped using Fusion as a result and now just boot in to boot camp.

This has me very disappointed. I waited months for Fusion 3 to come out and was severely let down.

I hope that someone can help me figure this out. However, as there are no 3D settings per se, I don't have much hope.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Hi Shaolo,