VMware Communities
themonsterman
Contributor
Contributor

Default Windows Login

Can I change the default userid/password that gets logged into when starting a VM? When I installed Fusion Beta 3, it asked me for a userid/password to create. However, it didn't create that user in windows and it is starting up with the Administrator userid.

I would like to login, default-wise, to another userid.

Is this possible?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Just type in a different userid on the login screen. As long as it is a valid account/password, it should let you log in.

0 Kudos
themonsterman
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks, but when I start the machine, it is already logging into the administrator id. I then have to log off of it and log into my id. I.e. I am not seeing the login screen at all. Is there an option I need to set? I am brand new to VMware, so please excuse my ignorance.

0 Kudos
palter
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Once Windows is running, type the following into the Run box from the Start menu

control userpasswords2

There's a checkbox to either automatically login someone on start up or require a user to login. (I forget which it is off hand.) Anyway, if it's checked, uncheck it. If it's unchecked, check it.

Mac mini (M2 Pro/32GB/2TB), Intel NUC10i5FNH w/ESXi 7.0,
iPhone 15 Pro Max (256GB), iPad Pro 12.9" (5th gen, M1/16GB/1TB)
41mm Watch Series 9 (Aluminum), TV 4K (3rd gen), TV 4K (1st gen)
0 Kudos
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

>I am brand new to VMware, so please excuse my ignorance.

It has nothing at all to do with VMware. VMware simply provides a container in which to run another OS - and that OS believes it is running on a real PC. Your question is a Windows OS question.