VMware Communities
tj_baker
Contributor
Contributor

Curious about security....

I am new to Mac, and vmware, and I am just curious about any possible security issues that may arise by having a Windows installation running on my Mac. Is it possible for a Mac to catch a virus from a Windows machine?

Thanks for any input, and for patience with the noob... Smiley Happy

peace,

tj

0 Kudos
15 Replies
aliasme
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Yes, absolutely, and this is an important issue that I am surprised a journalist or media person has not picked up on in order to educate the general public on things they should be aware and what they need to do. This information is true for both Parallels and Fusion.

1) When you install Windows in Fusion, depending on your network configuration (bridged), you are creating a Windows machine on your network with an IP address sitting, listening, sharing, waiting to be hacked. So, all the precautions of a Windows machine on the Internet should be followed: firewall, set a password, don't setup open network shares in Windows without passwords, etc.

2) Depending on how you have setup the guest operating system, you are giving the machine access to certain shared folders on your Mac. It is possible a destructive virus could overwrite or delete files on your network drives, which means files on your Mac in your home directory or files in one of OS X directories you designate and setup as shared. When a file is deleted from a share, it is not moved to the trash, it is GONE, GONE (without very expensive and highly specialized data recovery tools that only have about a 75% chance of working). An antivirus application is a good idea if you use the client machine to surf the web or there are ANY incoming files on the machine originating from the outside which might be compromised or infected.

It's a great question, and a lot of people probably do not realize the exposure on the "virus free Mac" they bought.

BP9906
Expert
Expert