VMware Communities
sirozha
Contributor
Contributor

Cisco CM 6.0 on VMWare Fusion

Hi all!

This is my first post in a VMWare forum.

Has anyone successfully installed Cisco Communications Manager 6.0 (or earlier) on VMWare Fusion? I am particularly intereted in installing several instances of CM 6.0 in virtual machines running in Fusion but also curious about anyone's success with Cisco CM 5 or Cisco CM 4.

I am currently studying for CCVP and need to build a lab of several Cisco Communication Managers. The options are:

1. Buy several psyisical servers and install Cisco CM 6.0 natively on them.

The disadvantages of this option are very high cost, too much space required, noisy environment, and high energy consumption, which equals higher electic bills.

2. Buy one beefed up Intel-based server (such as a Dell Poweredge 840) that supports up to 8 GB of RAM and comes with two 250 GB hard drives in its low-end configuration. With Kingston 2x2 GB RAM upgrade, I should be able to install a Linux distro (probably Ubuntu or Fedora) as a host OS, a VMWare server (free), and then install a few instances of Cisco CM 6.0 as guest OS's (less than $150 for an NFR version). This solution would run me around $1000 for the hardware and software. In the future, I can add 4 more GB of RAM and install a couple Cisco Unity instances (hopefully, by that time Cisco will come up with Linux-based Unity so that I won't have to pay for a copy of Windows Server that current Unity runs on).

The main disadvantage of this solution is the fact that I have to cough up a $840 on the hardware that I can use only for the lab purposes. I also have to run a CAT5 cable to the room which I am planning to use for my studies for it lacks a pre-installed CAT5 drop.