VMware Communities
Daedan
Contributor
Contributor

Cannot power on VM with VMware fusion 12 on Big Sur 11.0.1

Hi, I'm new to VMware and tried to start a VM for the first time. I tried using a bootcamp image and start from an .iso with the same result. I've got a message saying that the vm failed to power on. No other explanation.. so I went to the log file but couldn't find a clue to what my problem is. 

I've attach the log to the message.

So far I've tried to use VirtualBox and Parallels and both failed as well.. what's wrong with me (or my computer)?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
david_lee_smith
Contributor
Contributor

After upgrading to Big Sur I had a similar problem I was able to overcome by editing the virtual machine preferences and turning off disk-cache. After this change I was able to boot but the performance is very slow. Hope this work-around helps until VMWare or Apple can publish a patch. 

0 Kudos
leronjordan87
Contributor
Contributor

I have the same problem. Already stuck with this issue. Can any one help please? thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
ColoradoMarmot
Champion
Champion

usual troubleshooting:  make sure it's installed and running as an administrator, make sure you allowed the extension in system preferences/security when prompted

Big sur/Fusion 12 specific, disable nested hypervisor in the VM preferences.

0 Kudos
leronjordan87
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Sir,

Thank you for your reply. I'm already done in that troubleshooting but unfortunately still the same "Failed to power on (path). I'm using macOS Big Sur ver.11.2.3, Chip: Apple M1. VM Fusion version 12.1.0.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
ColoradoMarmot
Champion
Champion

Fusion is not supported on M1 chips.  They are working on a version that will support ARM guests on M1 chips.

When it is supported, it's highly unlikely that it'll support x86 guests.  If you need to run an intel OS, for the foreseeable future, the only option is to use an intel chip.

0 Kudos
leronjordan87
Contributor
Contributor