VMware Communities
fluid-image
Contributor
Contributor

Can I copy a VM image to my boot camp partition?

Hi, I'm new to all this, so go easy on the replies!

I have a new iMac and recently copied my old PC HDD using the converter utility to make an image of it which I then opened in VMWare fusion on the iMac with great success.

Trouble is, I just found out that Firewire devices are not supported (should've checked I know) So now I want to copy that partition to a bootcamp partition so I can us the firewire peripherals I have. I'm using Nuendo with an M-audio firewire audio device and don't want to spend another £2000 on the plug-ins I have installed in it!

So can I copy this image to boot camp using any of the VMware tools? I then want to run that OS as a stand alone system.

If not I can still use my old PC as an audio station but the iMac would be so much better!

Many thanks in advance.

Kenny.

iMac 24" 2.8 Duo Core

4GB Ram

Leopard 10.5.1

-

Image: Windows XP Pro, 120 Gig partition.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
fluid-image
Contributor
Contributor

I guess the easy way woiuld be to install my copy of windows on the bootcamp partition and then run my VMware image in VMWare Workstation for windows?

Would that work?

Is there a way for me to natively run my image on the boot camp partition?

I'm drowning in a sea of frustration!

Cheers,

K.

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

I guess the easy way woiuld be to install my copy of windows on the bootcamp partition and then run my VMware image in VMWare Workstation for windows?

Would that work?

That would work, except that Windows can't natively read or write HFS+ - if your VM was on a FAT partition (and the disk was split instead of monolithic), I would expect it to work.

Is there a way for me to natively run my image on the boot camp partition?