VMware Communities
sgkrasts
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Backup strategy using a combination of Time Machine and Crashplan... valid?

I've read many of the discussions about backing up, but I'm still not clear on whether or not the strategy I've come up with will work. Hoping that the community will share their wisdom.

I only have a few files on my Virtual Machine that I really care about. They are: ~18GB of Outlook archive files and some Quicken files. I don't think I need to worry about doing a complete system restore. So, my thought is that I can use Crashplan (on my Virtual Machine/PC) to backup my select windows files to my Mac HD and then a) use Time Machine to back up the Mac HD (excluding the Virtual Machine) on my external drive at home and b) use CrashPlan (on my Mac) to backup the Mac HD an external drive at my friend's house.

Is this a reasonable and valid strategy?

Also, if it isn't obvious by the language I've used, I'm a novice user...

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution