VMware Communities
etuser
Contributor
Contributor

1 question and yes Im a noob

Hello- I am wondering how to make this issue I have work. I have created a workgroup XP volume license image. Installed on it is our volume license if office, and vairous other apps. The image is right 4gb. I name it Windows XP Pro-master. Next we have several macs and I am installing vm fusion on them and simply want to bring down this image to each mac I setup fusion on. Once on the machines I will join it to the domain, name it correctly and let the user login. Can I do this? I am not for sure how to do so. Any help in advance would be great1

Thanks,

Indiana

0 Kudos
16 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

An easy way of doing this would be to follow the instructions from http://www.vmware.com/download/fusion/windows_to_mac.html

The VMware converter tool will turn your Physical PC into a VM which you can then just move over to your mac

When opening the VM you can choose the option that you copied it over rather then moved it. Then you can set the options that you need.

Other information to read

More about vmware converter

If Using a ghost image

Additional documentation about physical to virtual

<a href="http://www.ardamis.com/2009/04/25/cold-cloning-vmware-converter/">Additional 3rd party suggestion for cold cloning</a>

0 Kudos
etuser
Contributor
Contributor

Is this for each user? I have an image, I just want to use the same XP image and pull it down to the new mac machine each time. So I would still use this tool?

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal