VMware Edu & Cert Community
kc73837
Contributor
Contributor

VCP Certification without vmware background

Dear all,

I have no vmware background, but I have been told many times that this is the field to get into. I feel like getting a certification will be the best start point. Could any one suggest the courses i should take, how can i study for the course, and what i need to do.

I looked over the forum, but seems like most people that's in this has a lot of experience in this and the tests really need some hands-on experience.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated!

5 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I would suggest building up some experience would be a good start point, the training can help with that - Install Configure Manage is the most popular vSphere course and also meets the training requirement for the certification.

This discussion was along the same lines: http://communities.vmware.com/message/2258883#2258883

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
aravinds3107
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Definitely you would some hands on experience on the product before you can sit for the exam. vSphere ICM course is the pre-requisite for the course but you would spend more time to learning before you sit for the exam.

You can download the vSphere products for trail version and work on it. You can build a lab based on VMware workstation which is good for studying , There are also free online training videos available which can use

http://vmwarelearning.com/

If you search for vSphere lab you will get huge number of options, This one is good to start

Building the Ultimate vSphere Lab – Part 1: The Story | Boerlowie's Blog