VMware Cloud Community
slinuxuzer2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCF Network questions

I'm new to VCF and am working on a deployment for a client, so I'm hoping the folks here can answer some questions. Thanks in advance for responses and I'll be sure to mark as correct for anyone that assists.

1. I've noticed in the VMware HOL that VCF management WLD deploys NSX and the first edge, but it seems I can't configure load-balancing on this edge, even though it shows load-balancing is enabled. The typical tab doesn't seem to be available. Does VCF not allow this? I've even tried deploying a second edge and the configuration option isn't there.

2. It seems that all the management workloads in the management WLD are deployed to a VLAN backed port-group, so now logical switches are used and no management workload traffic goes through edges? If this is the case, what does this first edge do then?

3. I've tried deploying a NSX-V WLD in the HOL and can't get it to work properly, it fails at configuring NSX manager backups. My question is, per the VVD two Uplink port-groups are created. I'm assuming this is to peer ESGs with upstream routers. My client wants to use NSX-V and not use dynamic routing, their use case calls for every workload to be NAT.

a. Is there any reason or restrictions I should be aware of using NSX-V with VCF? I'm assuming when I deploy a NSX-V WLD it deploys the NSX configuration greenfield? Meaning, no logical switches, no DLRs, no ESGs? And then I can build out those constructs to my client's needs?

b. Even if I can configure NSX-V however I like, will I still be required to have two uplink port-groups and VLANs to deploy the WLD?

4. It appears that NSX Manager backups up to the SDDC Manager? So if this is the case, does the SDDC manager host SFTP server or will I still need to provision this service somewhere else?

Cheers.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ktebear
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hello!