VMware Cloud Community
Overjack
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to register Orchestrator as VCenter Server extension

Hello,

i am currently studying the book "VMware vRealize Orchestrator Cookbook". I have done the following steps so far:

• Download Orchestrator Appliance 5.5.2.1 and deploy
  • Configure Network Settings
  • Import SSL certificates
  • Configure vCenter Server licences
  • Configure LDAP configuration
  • Registering Orchestrator with SSO
  • Add vCenter Server Host

Within the vSphere Web Client I don't see the orchestrator server - it doesn't show up in the "Registered as VC extension" field. If I trie to manually specify the IP-Adress of the Orchestrator server and click on "Test connection" I get the error "Failed to connect to XXX"

Within the Orchestrator Java Web Client I try to run the following workflow:

Library --> vCenter --> Configuration --> Register vCenter Orchestrator as a vCenter Server extension

But every time I get this error:

A specified parameter was not correct.

extension.key (Workflow:Register vCenter Orchestrator as a vCenter Server extension / Register extension (item1)#10198)

Do you have any ideas to get the Orchestrator server registered in vCenter?

I would like to test some workflows!

Greetings

0 Kudos
12 Replies
dvatov
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

When you add vCenter host to vCO it should register itself as extension. You can login at vCenter MOB ( https://<vc ip>/mob ) and check the list of registered extensions in the extensionManager. There should be an array with extensions and the vCO one should have key com.vmware.orchestrator.<guid>. The guid is taken from VC.xml file - the configuration of the VC plugin located at app-server/conf/plugins. This guid is generated when you register the first vCenter server in vCO. If all this is in place then it has to do something with webclient - vco integration.