VMware Cloud Community
jamesreinke2
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Stop Users seeing all VMs

I am trying to make the "Rename Virtual Machine" workflow available but hit one major snag. When a user runs the workflow they are able to everything in vCenter. Is there anyway to prevent that from happening. If it helps the VMs are in folders as you can see in the picture within vCenter. This may be a basic question but im still quite new to Orchestrator.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

For tree choosers, vRO supports so called root objects. To use it, you should open the workflow for edit, go to 'Presentation' tab, select the input field whose tree you want to control, and add the property 'Specify a root object to be shown ...'. The value of this property could be either an attribute (in your case, of type VC:VmFolder) or and action returning a single value of type VC:VmFolder; you should compute the value to be the root node folder of the subtree you want your users to see (eg. you should set the folder ESCC if you want your users to see only the folder ESCC and its subfolders).

In practice, this approach has a few limitations; the most important is that it won't work in every client you use to start the workflow. It will work, if you launch the workflow from vRO Java client, but won't work if you launch the workflow from vSphere Web client integration plug-in.

0 Kudos
jamesreinke2
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Ilian,

Is this what is supposed to look like? I assume I'm missing the linked parameter but not sure where or what.

James

0 Kudos
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Well, yes and no Smiley Happy