VMware Cloud Community
Vidal30
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Shutdown VM from VRA with VCO Workflow

Hi,

I'm a beginner at VCO and I need some help with basic Workflow.

I tried to create a new WF -  receive a vCAC:VirtualMachine for a user and then Shutdown the machine.

For starters, I created WF and added scriptable task that print Input System.log(vCAC:VirtualMachine);

and now I don't know how to continue... In VCO doesn't has  action to Shutdown vCAC:VirtualMachine .

Thanks.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
poorem
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I'm not 100% sure when it was added, but there is an action in 7.x that will help called com.vmware.vcac.asd/findVcVmByUuid. Ive included it in the attached package, if you don't already have it then you can import it. It wasn't present on my vRO 6.0.2 system but should work ok in 6.x. (I don't currently have 6.0.5 and vRA 6.2.3 running in my lab to check it with.)

To use the action, a simple bit of javascript in a scriptable task in vRO can be used:

var vraVmId = vcacVm.vmUniqueID;

System.log(vraVmId);

vcVm = System.getModule("com.vmware.vcac.asd").findVcVmByUuid(vraVmId);

Obviously, vcacVm is the VCAC:VirtualMachine and vcVm is the VC:VirtualMachine, like this:

201709249_110914-CapturFiles.png

You can then call vcVm.shutdownGuest() to shutdown the VM.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
poorem
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Just stepping back a minute. Can you clarify exactly what you're trying to achieve? The title of this post suggests to me that you want to shutdown a VM from within vRA as a day 2 operation. There is a built-in action for that already, it just needs to be entitled,

In vRO (vCO) though, you'd need to "translate" the VCAC:VirtualMachine object to a VC:VirtualMachine object and then you could call the shutdown task on that. Happy to help you with that, but let's just make sure first that you're not doing it needlessly.

0 Kudos
Vidal30
Contributor