TimDScott
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Locking Workflows

Jump to solution

I've developed a series of workflows & actions that I will be sending out to customers in an import package (so not a plugin).

Is there a way I can lock the workflows so they can't be changed once imported? I've had a look at the right click, locking/lock functionality but it seems like you can just right click, locking/unlock at any point.

Thanks,

Tim.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Tim,

How do you deliver these workflows/actions to the customer? If you deliver your content as a .package file, then you can lock it (in fact, that's what the official plug-ins do - as part of plug-in build process they build a package file, put the content into it, and mark the content as locked.)

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Tim,

How do you deliver these workflows/actions to the customer? If you deliver your content as a .package file, then you can lock it (in fact, that's what the official plug-ins do - as part of plug-in build process they build a package file, put the content into it, and mark the content as locked.)

0 Kudos
TimDScott
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thanks Llian, I am using a .package file, I hadn't even noticed the "Edit contents" tick box on the export dialog!

One other thing, once the package has been imported, how can all the workflows etc. be uninstalled?

Tim.

0 Kudos
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Check the point #5 in the 'uninstall a plug-in' official docs here -  https://docs.vmware.com/en/vRealize-Orchestrator/7.3/com.vmware.vrealize.orchestrator-install-config...

0 Kudos
TimDScott
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

But I'm not providing a plugin, I'm using a .package

I tried deleting the package, but the contents do not get deleted as well.

Thanks again!

Tim.

0 Kudos
iiliev
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Plug-in's content is also bundled and delivered as a package file (embedded in the plug-in binary file).

The part of the docs I'm referring to is about deletion of locked content, no matter if it is delivered as part of plug-in or as a plain package.

0 Kudos