VMware Cloud Community
frefal
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Get all vms in vCD organization

Hello!

I am an Orchestrator newbie and I am trying to create a workflow that will get all VMs inside a specific organization and then suspend all of those VMs via the vcloud director / vapp / vm / power / suspend a virtual machine workflow.

So I thought that I would first use the Action element to catch all my VMs in an org, but I can't find any element that matches my wish. How do I accomplish this task?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
15 Replies
cdecanini_
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

There are different ways of doing this:

-1- Get all Org VDCs, for each VDC get all vApps, for each vApp get all VMs

-2- Use the query service to get all the vApps belonging to an org (using the organization as a container - this may also work for a VM).

For 2) a good reference is : Leveraging the VMware vCloud Director query service

It has links to other examples.

If you don't manage to build your query with the contaoner org you can always use one of the examples getting all vApps or VMs and then iterate on the array to check if the parent organization is the one you are expecting.

If my answer resolved or helped you, please mark it as Correct or Helpful to award points. Thank you! Visit http://www.vcoteam.info & http://blogs.vmware.com/orchestrator for vCenter Orchestrator tips and tutorials - @vCOTeam on Twitter
0 Kudos
frefal
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Thank you for the information.

Since we only have one vdc per org I thought I would firstly get all vApps in the vdc by using the action element getvdcvapps, then get the vms in the vapps and so on.

So I add getVdcVapps to my brand new workflow and I run "promote Workflow input/output parameters" and set the vdc as a value for vdc and I leave the output as is.