VMware Cloud Community
Craig_G2
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Adding a user to a newly provisioned VM

Hi all,

I'm trying to figure out how to add or create a user based on the requestor of the VM..

I'm using a clone workflow in my blue print so I'm guessing that VirtualMachine.Admin.AddOwnerToAdmins is out of the question. Currently I have a script that runs after the vm is provisioned, part of this is to scan GuestAgent.log for VirtualMachine.Admin.Owner then create a local user and add it to the Administrators group.

I'm guessing that this isn't the best or right way to do things so any pointers would be appreciated

Thanks!

0 Kudos
45 Replies
RonPSSC
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hey Ronald;

Your conversion theory would definitely explain this one but I’m afraid solving this little riddle is a little outside my level of comprehension at this time…Sorry...This is my first attempt at creating a Workflow. :smileyblush:

How would I go about to ensure the proper "string" conversion takes place before my first Action item? Is there another Action Element I need to introduce beforehand or do I need to simply change or add another Input Parameter in the current Action. Or, do I just substitute the current Action Element with a more apt routine? (Not sure if this is relevant but the follow-on Scriptable Tasks in my Workflow do depend however on the output of the vCAC Entity.)

I’m also not sure I follow you as far as checking the vCAC stub action is concerned?? The stub which calls this particular workflow is the MachineProvisioned WF.  I’ve attached a screenshot of the first scripting element which happens to be the actual area of the conversion failure. I hope I’ve answered your questions and that this is sufficient for you.. If not, I did attach the complete Workflow in an earlier post if that helps as well.

Thanks.

Ron

0 Kudos
d-fens
Enthusiast
Enthusiast