VMware Cloud Community
bydemandchd
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

unable to find supported device to write VMware esx server 3i image to.

Hi

I am fairly new to virtulization.

I downloaded: VMware ESX Server 3i U4 Installable Refresh Version 3.5 Update 4 | 153875 - 03/30/09 from the website and burnt it to a disc. upon booting from the disc and following the instructions in the installation guide I get the following error:

Installation Operation failed!

The installation operation has encoutered a fatal error!

unable to find supported device to write VMware esx server 3i image to.

The Following system inforamtion will assist the VMWare support forum with your problem. Please record the information before proceeding.

System Information

Manufacture: Aborted

Model: aborted

Service Tag: Aborted

BIOS Rev: SGP4510H.06A.0083.2008.0819.1026

0 Kudos
31 Replies
bydemandchd
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thank you all of you with your help. I really appreciate your time and effort. I was able to successfully boot from the USB Drive.

But now I cannot configure the IP address of the network card. I have an Intel 82567LF-2 Gigabit Network Connection. I followed the common issues article. But the driver for this is not listed on the custom oem.tgz page. Could you please help?

0 Kudos
nsolop
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Is your Nic on the HCL?

Saludos/Regards

Nicolas Solop

Buenos Aires, Argentina

-

Mi empresa

Mi perfil en LinkedIn

Grupo de Virtualizacion en español de Linkedin

-

0 Kudos
bydemandchd
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I am using an Intel DP45SG mother board

0 Kudos
J1mbo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Version 4, super-dooper, gonna see if this works on the legendary ML115 G5!

0 Kudos
nsolop
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

It works, tryed myself with the Betas, release candidates and now the GA... Believe me it works on the ML115 Smiley Wink

Saludos/Regards

Nicolas Solop

Buenos Aires, Argentina

-