VMware Cloud Community
kdewitt
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

trying to create an ESXi datastore on local drive. Error during configuration of host: Failed to update disk partition information

I'm a newbie on ESXi and not sure what to do to make ESXi correctly partition my 500 SATA drive correctly.

I'm setting up a lab unit to do some testing for ESXi and ESXi is not partitioning the drive quite correctly or it doesn't seem to see a correct partition in order to create a datastore.

This system was able to correctly identify and configure a datastore on a small 80GB seagate SATA drive however, that isn't quite enough storage so i swapped out the hard drive and tried to re-install ESXi on the new hd.

I'm using a thumb drive to boot ESXi from and it does come up and configures the intel pro1000 pci ethernet card correctly. also correctly id's the cpu and memory. all seems fine and it even is able to see the hard drive.

here's some screenshots of the process i'm going through to make my datastore...

in this picture- under the column heading "available" is says "none" also, under heading "san identifier" it says "not applicable" - i'm guessing this isn't quite right???

and bummer - failure???

i've tried to go into the bios to see if there are some settings i need to do to get this hard drive set up... i just don't understand enough about ESXi to know why the hard drive isn't being found and configured correctly. is this a bios issue w/ my system or an ESXi issue?

pls help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Generally you don't have to, but it might be worth booting it with something like a Linux live CD and then using gparted or other to wipe all partition info on it.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
kdewitt
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

I've also gone back into the ESXi command line using the following steps..