VMware Cloud Community
cab3
Contributor
Contributor

oem.tgz and esx4i

I downloaded the ESX4i release today, hoping to install it on my home system, much like I've done with ESX3i in the past. I'll freely admit that my hardware is in the "unsupported" class, but previously I'd been provided instructions on how to modify the oem.tgz and the various appropriate changes to the VMware-VMVisor... files and then being able to install to my SATA drives in my ESX box. I've been running successfully in this manner for many months, but now want to upgrade the version to the 4i and I'm being met with a totally different image layout, and an apparent lack of the oem.tgz file. It also seems that the /binmod.tgz is gone as well, so where does the new structure live?

So, how do we go about making modifications to support our "not so standard but totally workable" hardware?

Thanks!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
bulletprooffool
Champion
Champion

Unfortunately, this is not as easy as it seems.

For now, until someone publishes these workaround, you could always just use VM Server and host vSphere on that?

It will be a while before someone provides workaround for all the hardwaer types . . the tendency is now to get people to use 'white box' hardware . . . and go from there.

If you do figure it out . . please publish for the rest of us.

One day I will virtualise myself . . .
0 Kudos
cab3
Contributor
Contributor

So, I figured out how to do this, and as requested, I'll try to provide a synopsis of what I did.

First, to explain my configuration and what I was trying to accomplish. I have an ASUS M2V HDMI motherboard, which has 4 onboard SATA ports, and a 4 core AMD Phenom CPU, and 8GB of RAM. I did put an Intel GBE card in it when I had it running ESXi 3.5, since the onboard RealTek was an impossibility.