VMware Cloud Community
besson3c
Contributor
Contributor

e1000_clean_tx_irq: Detected Tx Unit Hang

Hello,

I'm running VMware ESXi 4.0 on a Shuttle PC with an Intel Pro PCI NIC. I'm able to ping this machine about half of the time, the other half of the time these packets are dropped. I cannot access the machine in anyway remotely, including via its webpage. Part of the time the built in network diagnostics work, other times they don't - pinging my gateway IP in particular is what fails intermittently

I've tested this same NIC on a different OS, no problems there. The machine itself works fine in other OSes, as does my gateway/router. Looking at the ESXi logs I'm seeing screen after screen of errors such as:

e1000_clean_tx_irq: Detected Tx Unit Hang

and

LinNet: netdev_watchdog: NETDEV WATCHDOG: vmnic0: transmit timed out

I'm brand new to ESXi and am attempting to evaluate it as we speak. I'm not expecting some sort of magic cure for this sort of kernel related bug, but is there anything that I can provide in the way of information that might be useful? I'm assuming that there is no way for me to get this to work on my hardware at this time...

Thanks in advance for your time and attention!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
besson3c
Contributor
Contributor

Anybody? I'd love some ideas, thoughts, etc.!

0 Kudos
Rubeck
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

What are the negotiated NIC speed and duplex setting? 100Mbit or Gb? Half or full duplex..?

What does this NIC connect to?

/Rubeck

0 Kudos
besson3c
Contributor
Contributor

Dropping into the hidden console and doing an "esxcfg-nics -l" I see a single line with the following properties:

name: vmnic0

pci: 00:0b.00

driver: e1000

link: up

speed: 1000Mpbs

duplex: full

MAC Address: a mac address

MTU: 1500

Description: Intel Corporation PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter

The NIC is connected to my machine's PCI slot. Does this help? I hope so Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
besson3c
Contributor
Contributor

Interesting, doing a "esxcfg-nics -a" I get: