VMware Cloud Community
jmarctech
Contributor
Contributor

What is a good (non-motherboard) card for RAID/SATA on desktops?

Ok, so I am still struggling with my Dell T3400 (hangs on install) and I'm considering disabling the motherboard drives and just buying a new card for my sata drives.

I have peeked at the compat list and its a bit confusing in general. Can someone be kind enough to link me to some controllers that are known to be working for ESXi, that fit in a PCI slot, that support SATA, and that can be RAIDED and still work with ESXi. Ideally, I would be able to put 4 drives in (1 TB sata or sata2) devices and raid them, and then be able to check the raid status via software somehow (so if a drive died, I could fix it before it becomes a real problem).

(I apologize if this is "common knowledge" or something, I am new to vmware).

0 Kudos
8 Replies
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal

I assume that the T3400 has PCIe slots on it? You'll have a hard time finding a RAID card supported by ESXi that isn't PCIe or PCI-X - standard PCI ones are very hard to come by. The one standard PCI card that I can think of that's listed as working on http://vm-help.com is one of the Promise SATA cards. Unfortunately, these are "fake RAID" cards so I'm not sure that ESXi will actually support RAID on them, but may be able to access drives hung off this controller individually.

0 Kudos
wpatton
Expert
Expert

You can install a PCI-X card into a PCI slot, they are backward compatible, however they are then throttled down to the old 33 MHz bus speed of PCI which obviously will become a problem with any significant I/O load.

As Nick says, PCIe or PCI-X natively are a much better option. Note: PCIe cards are NOT compatible with PCI-X or PCI slots

If you found this or other information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful".