VMware Cloud Community
2Charlie
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

What do I need to start?

Please forgive me, I'm quite new to this virtualization thing. Is VMware ESXi really free? Is there any catch to this? What do I need to have for a fully functional virtualized server? I'm thinking about having three to five virtual servers inside one physical server. Some of the applications I will be running are: SQL Server, Oracle Server, print server, file server, and domain controller. What are the hardware recommendations for running something like that with ESXi?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If you are referring to the client yes it is free and included with the ESXi server - just point a browser at your new server and you will have a link to download the application - as the other poster pointed this clien in the ESX 3.5 days was referred to as the VI Client - virtual insfrastructure is a marketing used to refer to the components of the previous version of ESX (3.5) and Virtual Center (2.5) - just like vSphere refers to the current release all being branded with the 4.0 version level - and th client in vSphere is called the vSphere Client - and the vSphere client is also included at no charge in all versions of ESX/ESXi 4.0 -

As the other poster also pointed out very little is done form the ESXi console other than the server set up - every thing eelse is done through the client -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution