VMware Cloud Community
ldrose537
Contributor
Contributor

VMWare VI Remote CLI

Hello,

I am completely new to VMware. We are running ESXi 3.5 on an HP ProLiant DL380G5. While testing a UPS, the ESXi Server went down. After rebooting, one of the VMs would not power on. In another blog I saw a suggestion to create a new VM and use the existing *.vmdk - now I am getting "Unable to access file since it is locked." By the way - I have a call into support on this, and am waiting patiently.

My research suggests there may be a way to figure out what's going on by creating a SSH session to the server and using vmkfstools(?). I've no idea how to do this.

I have seen reference to RemoteCLI and PuTTY: What's the difference? Is one better than the other?

-also- I am aware that I need to make sure the ESXi Server will allow for the remote session; how do I do that?

This server was kind of thrown on me and I am reading the guides I'm discovering as fast as my eyeballs will allow, but I'm getting punchy and a little panicky. I should probably mention, we are not using VirtualCenter server.

Any assistance is welcome.

appreciatively,

Linda

0 Kudos
18 Replies
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal

Putty is just a SSH client.

The VMware CLI is a set of commands specific for ESX and you need the console or SSH access.

I don't know if there is a complete reference, but there are a lot of examples, like this:

http://www.petri.co.il/5-critical-vmware-esx-cli-network-commands.htm

http://b2v.eu/cli/

Andre

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro
ldrose537
Contributor
Contributor

Andre,

Thanks for the links. The first one led me to the following page, which is one of the things I needed to see - a good visual example of how to get the SSH session allowed on ESXi: