VMware Cloud Community
pmacialek
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMWare ESXi 4 as a file server?

Hello there,

Got a server running on VMWare ESXi 4, currently with one Linux virtual machine, more to come.

My goal is to use the server as a storage place/file server within company network as well as test environment (thats what i need multiple virtual machines for).

My question is: Is there any way to use ESXi 4 as a file server separately of installed virtual machines? Or do I have to use one of virtual machines as a storage place? If so, is there any way I can connect to this storage place WITHOUT using VMWare vSphere (which I'm currently using to manage server)? Say, add network drive from within Windows on workstations.

Those looks for me like a basic questions however I'm pretty much newbie here so I'm not really sure whats doable Smiley Happy

Cheers

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Kasraeian
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi, Welcome to forum

AFAIK, No, You can't use VMware ESXi itself as storage/file server.

You have to use VM in it and that VM should get this service to other client.

As long as you want to use this host (ESXi) as your test environment (put some VM on it for test), you should be careful about your bandwidth and I/O, may be the test VM needs a lot of bandwidth or I/O, and if your host can't answer all the VMs need (file server and test VMs), you will see a low performance.

If I miss anything; please correct me, thanks.

-= If you found this note/reply useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful" =-

-= If there's any mistake in my notes, please correct me! =-

-= Thanks =-

If you found this note/reply useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful" If there's any mistake in my notes, please correct me! Sohrab Kasraeianfard | http://www.kasraeian.com | @Kasraeian

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Kasraeian
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi, Welcome to forum