VMware Cloud Community
Razorhog
Contributor
Contributor

VI3 Network Diagram - your opinion/input please

I am new to VMware Infrastructure, and have been working on this drawing for a while. Please take a look and let me know of anything that is wrong or could be improved. Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
22 Replies
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

Can you attach to the post, as opposed to another link?

-KjB

VMware vExpert

vExpert/VCP/VCAP vmwise.com / @vmwise -KjB
0 Kudos
Razorhog
Contributor
Contributor

Can you attach to the post, as opposed to another link?

-KjB

VMware vExpert

I thought the way I did it you could see it in the post. I'll attach to this post.

0 Kudos
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal

Looks familiar. Smiley Happy

Your iSCSI connections are not redundant. Right now, if you lose either iSCSI switch, your connection from your server to storage dies. Your physical NICs should have a leg on each switch.

-KjB

VMware vExpert

NWhiley
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Are you using class B for VMotion?

I'd go C and keep all the VMotion in a small yet perfectly formed private network.

Neil VCP
0 Kudos
azn2kew
Champion
Champion

I'm curious if this is a new design for iSCSI solution, are you using 1GBe or thought of using 10GBe, since you're definitely need it in the future for expansion/growth demands. Even though it costly but saves you to redesign your network a year from now!

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

Regards,

Stefan Nguyen

VMware vExpert 2009

iGeek Systems Inc.

VMware, Citrix, Microsoft Consultant

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!! Regards, Stefan Nguyen VMware vExpert 2009 iGeek Systems Inc. VMware vExpert, VCP 3 & 4, VSP, VTSP, CCA, CCEA, CCNA, MCSA, EMCSE, EMCISA
0 Kudos
Razorhog
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you, I have that corrected now Smiley Happy

Looks familiar. Smiley Happy