VMware Cloud Community
Lery154
Contributor
Contributor

Two ESXi servers, two Datastores, Accessing Both

Hello community. I have recently setup ESXi 4.0 on my server. Datastore is setup locally. The server has one datastore.

I have a secondary server that I setup with ESXi 4.0. Same deal as the first server. Local datastore.

Is there a way I can share the first server's datastore with the second datastore? Using the second ESXi server, I would like to access the first server's datastore so I can utilize the files on it. I tried using the Add Storage feature in the vClient on the second server. I did choose the network share option, but it did not work. Not really sure what I did wrong, or if I was even in the right area. Is there any documented steps to accomplishing this?

Thanks for any information you can lend me.

I'm also interested in being able to access the datastore from my VM's running Windows OS's, if that is possible? I am new to ESXi, so I have been trying to find most of my answers via Google Smiley Happy Decided to try out this community.

-Derek

P.S. No I have not read the entire manual yet. If this is all clearly documented there, just tell me I can gladly go read through it.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Joseigh
Contributor
Contributor

Someone may want to step in and correct me if I'm off, but I don't think that's possible. The recommended way to accomplish sharing files between the two is to connect them both to some type of shared storage (iSCSI target, NFS/CIFS share, etc). Also, your Windows hosts will not be able to share their local volumes as they will be VMFS... not to mention they would have no way of connecting to it. That's probably not the answer you were looking for, but I hope it helps.

0 Kudos
asatoran
Immortal
Immortal