VMware Cloud Community
JuliuspIV
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Ridiculous Question: Custom Built ESX(i) Server: Worth it?

Hi all. I'll start by saying I'm new to using VM; I only recently jumped on the wagon. Diving in headfirst, I'm looking to stand up a production ESX(i) server primarily running some flavor of *nix with a typical LAMP setup, and perhaps a few other ad-hoc *nix VM's. As SQL gets used more & more, I'll offload that to another physical machine, but for now I think I'm ok. I currently have a *nix LAMP server running on a Core 2 Quad (Q6600) & 4GB. Load hardly ever goes above 0.75 and I've yet to see it go above 2.25.

Now, unfortunately Scrooge McDuck isn't my uncle, so I can't plop down the umpteen K required on a nicely configured dual quad-core Xeon with 16GB of RAM. I've been looking around for refurbished hardware and although some prices were within my range (under 2k), many configurations didn't compare to what I have now. I don't mind making a lateral move in terms of processing power, RAM etc, but I feel that getting a dual 3.0 Xeon (single cores with an 800MHz FSB) would be a step down from a Core 2 Quad. (Am I wrong?) I found some interesting configurations here & there but have concerns about the antiquated hardware and limited growth potential. Most systems were either too expensive as configured, offered no two dual-core option, or the dual dual-core option maxed out at 2.8GHz. I'd prefer to buy something middle of the road so that at a minimum, it would replace what I have now, and also allow me to drop a pair of quad-core Xeon's down the road.

I typically build my own machines, but since ESX(i), from what I've gleaned so far, won't just install & run on anything, I have doubts this will be a viable option. Although the posts here & here (none of the xtravirt links work) suggest it has been done, they're touch out of date. That being said,

Is anyone doing anything with rececnt technology like Core i7's?