VMware Cloud Community
frantzcollini
Contributor
Contributor

P2vtool

Hello,

i am studying vcb2pv2vxml.exe and pv2tool in order to import, nightly bu batch-command, a virtual machina backed up with VCB into another server.

It seems that this two comand does not permit to restore a machine backed up from an Esxi Server into another ESXi Server (in order to mantain the two machines up to dated for reundancy).

Is there a way to bypass this limit?

Thank you, cheers!

Francesco, from Italy

0 Kudos
14 Replies
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal

Do you need to "back up" the machine (have a copy) or do you just need it to be available to more than one ESXi server?

0 Kudos
frantzcollini
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Nick, i would like to have a copy and automatically import it into another ESXi Server, stopped, in order to start the vm if the primary Esxi Server fails!

Thank you,

Francesco

0 Kudos
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal

Why not just use a NFS datastore or iSCSI datastore shared between the ESXi servers?

0 Kudos
frantzcollini
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Nick,

i thought about: "Why not just use a NFS datastore or iSCSI datastore shared between the ESXi servers? "

I would like to transfer VM images from the First Esi Server to the backup ESXi Server; the problem is that i cannot shutdown the VM and copy to the second (by scp or some other commands...), and i think that make a hot VCBbackup and then a restore by vmconverter was the best...

Have you got another solution to replicate the VM into the second ESXi machine?

I have got no san, only local disk into physical machine

... thank you, cheers!

Francesco, from Italy

0 Kudos
ESXDevil
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

You can clone the VM to your local storage and then copy the clone to the other ESXi Server.

Regards

ESXDevil

0 Kudos
frantzcollini
Contributor
Contributor

This shold be right: "You can clone the VM to your local storage and then copy the clone to the other ESXi Server. "