jmetcalf
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie setup

What I bought:

2 HP ProLiant DL360 G5 - Quad-Core Xeon E5440 2.83 GHz

2 HP NC360T PCI Express Dual Port Gigabit Server Adapters

10 GB memory in each

HP StorageWorks Modular Smart Array 2012i Dual Controller - hard drive array with 7 300GB drives

2 HP integrated VMware ESX Server 3i Stand Alone - licenses

VMware Infrastructure Foundation Acceleration Kit - license

I'm just starting out with VMWare and am a stone cold rookie with SANS etc.

I've plugged the HP servers into the switch, and the SAN into the switch. I can get to the VM box via the infrastructure client, and I can browse to the SAN using the IP address on the ethernet management port, but I can't seem to get the VM box to see the SAN.

It looks like the VM ware will only see the built in NIC, and not the added GB card. Should I disable the built in card? I have 4 NIC ports on each server..and I'm confused as to whether 2 of them should be plugged directly into the SAN.

Do I need to create an array on the SAN and publish it first? How do I get the VM box to see what's available for storage?

I'd like to divide the array into 2 sections, one for each VM server, and I guess I need to reserve some space for VM backups?

Any help getting started is much appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
18 Replies
ajtinis
Contributor
Contributor

This may sound silly but have you zoned the ESX boxes yet on your SAN? Or are you using a NAS?

0 Kudos
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the VMware Community forums. How are you making out with this?

Typically you'll want to create an array and the map that LUN to the host(s). ESXi won't have software built into it to manage the SmartArray. Since you're not using iSCSI HBA (and I would consider swapping the NC360Ts for a dual port iSCSI HBA) you'll need

1) create a new virtual switch (with the VI client)

2) add a vmkernel port group to that vswitch and assign it an IP address that has connectivity to the SAN