VMware Cloud Community
Kevin_Gao
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Newbie 3i Console/Management Question

Hi everyone,

Please excuse me but I'm a VMWare newbie. Our not-for-profit foundation has been using VMWare Server 1 and also BETA 2 since last year. We're looking to move toward Infrastructure or 3i this year.

Could someone please clarify what we'll need to properly manage 3i (Remote GUI console and etc)? I had initially thought that we'll need the following:

- Virtual Center Foundation (we're on a budget so everything will be Foundation)

- Virtual Infrastructure Foundation

- ESX Server 3i

After chatting with an online VMWare pre-sales person; I learned that we won't need VC Foundation. Unfortunately I'm still a little hazy on this as the rep informed me that 3i can not have VC Console functionality. Could someone please explain? Any insight would be greatly appreciated as I'm trying to make an informed decision to management. Being NFP I'd like to make sure the budget is as efficient as possible.

Thanks a lot everyone!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jgilmartin
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Kevin - It depends somewhat on the number of servers you are virtualizing and the management functionality you want. Here are the basics:

An ESX3i license will give you single server partitioning. You will manage that server on a 1:1 basis with the VI Client, a windows GUI. This will allow you to create and view your virtual machines including accessing their consoles remotely. If you have more than one host, you will only be able to connect to one at a time.