VMware Cloud Community
Ilia_shapira
Contributor
Contributor

New Install ESXi 3.5 issue

I installed a few days ago the ESXi 3.5 on a server with Adaptec 3408 RAID

Everything was working fine, but the next morning from the install the server stoped responding, I was able to ping it but the local consloe was not responding and I was also not able to connect remotly. I restrted the server and again all day everything was working fine. Next morning again tthe same story.

I'm new to VMWARE so can anyone please tell me what can be the problem, where should I start looking and what should I do ?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
52 Replies
Jasemccarty
Immortal
Immortal

What type of hardware do you have? Is it a system on the Hardware Compatibility List?

Jase McCarty

http://www.jasemccarty.com

Co-Author of VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center

(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach

Jase McCarty - @jasemccarty
0 Kudos
Ilia_shapira
Contributor
Contributor

Yes and no Smiley Happy

This is a Tyan GT24 Server with Adaptec 3408 RAID adapter.

The RAID adapter is supported but the server not.

0 Kudos
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the VMware Community forums. The 3408 is not a supported controller (see the list here - http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vi35_io_guide.pdf) so if you're planning on using this for production it would be best to stick to something on the list.

Are you able to press ALT-F1 or better ALT-F12 when this happens? Also in the VI client, do to Administration \ System Logs and see if you have an errors there.

0 Kudos
Ilia_shapira
Contributor
Contributor

It is there on page 5

Adaptec RAID 3405 aacraid_esx30 1.1.5‐2415 aacraid_esx30 1.1.5‐2415 aacraid_esx30 1.1.5‐2415

I will later try to press ALT-F1 and F12 and let you know.

in the VI I didn't sow any errors while it was responding now I can't access it

0 Kudos
Dave_Mishchenko
Immortal
Immortal