VMware Cloud Community
TravisT81
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Machine Requirements - Test network

Hi guys,

I've been thumbing through the forums for the last few weeks trying to learn all I can about the VMware platforms, but I have very little experience, so bear wiith me here. I have a small (home) network/test network that I would like to consolidate/add a couple machines without incurring a great deal of expense. I am limited on hardware, but am looking to upgrade a current server and am trying to decide what I should look for. I have experimented with ESXi a little and think it would be a good solution, although the testing I did was less than desireable.

I would like to run 3-4 windows 2003 servers (DNS, AD, Exchange, DHCP, Antivirus, etc) and 2-3 linux servers (HTTP, Proxy, Syslog, etc) for this very low volume network. From testing ESXi on my current hardware (Optron 64, 1GB RAM, SATA HD's), running two windows server guests bogged the system down to the point it was unmanageable. What cheap hardware could give me the power to run these couple machines in a non-production, low volume environment with acceptable performance/dependability? I have also considered turning my current server into a SAN using Openfiler or a similar software and would like to integrate that into ESXi.

I have been looking at some Dell 1U dual core/dual processor servers with SATA RAID, but I'm very unclear on the processing power/RAM required to do what I would like. Any advice/links that would help me make this decision would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

TravisT

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
spex
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Until you do not overcommit memory more or less ram is not important. But there is a relative sharp boundary where response time goes up.

CPU is not so important, you always get what you have Smiley Wink There is no critical limit - service console itself has a reservation and is therefore not affected.