VMware Cloud Community
dmlavigne1
Contributor
Contributor

Install esxi on usb and modify the oem.tgz file

I am a linux newbie so please be kind.

I have built a esxi server with a MSI X58 board which has the ICH10 SATA controller and 2 Realtek 8111C network adapters. I checked for compatibilty at and the board is compatible with the "oem.tgz ICH10" according to the post with the realtek 8111c nics also compatible. I went ahead and used the update 3 ISO to create USB bootable stick following the instructions here I bootes the server and the IP is 0.0.0.0 and can't be changed. I take it because my nics are not supported in update 3.

Following the link in the compatibility post for my 8111c cards there is an oem.tgz file. I have also found another community oem.tgz file that is supposed to support ICH10 here although update 4 is supposed to have support for ICH10 but I can't download it for some reason (it says I have no access even though I have registered).

My confusion is 2 part:

1. How do I merge the 2 oem.tgz files so esxi will support my realtek 8111c nics and my ich10 sata controller?

2. How do I move that file to my USB bootable drive? Once formatted the usb drive only appears as 4mb in my windows machine, I can move the file to that partition but some how have to get it to the bootdisk partition that I can get to in the console by pressing alt+f2 on boot.

Any help you can give me is greatly appreciated. I only have windows machines at my disposal and my linux knowledge is very basic so please go slow.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
tmillerj
Contributor
Contributor

Hi. I am about to tackle the custom oem.tgz-type install myself. Although ESX 3.5u4 supports ICH10 controllers, I found it didn't recognize the ICH10R on my Asus P5Q-EM. I've not tried this yet, but I was just reading about it, and this might help you.