VMware Cloud Community
lifeonmars
Contributor
Contributor

IP Address 0.0.0.0 Static

Hi there!

I know this subject has been posted before and had many responses but unfortunately none of those posts really apply to me, so please accept my apologies for repeat posting.

I am new to ESX but not new VMWare (in Windows), I am trying to expand my knowledge on the subject but unfortunately my company has pulled its training budget so I am trying to teach myself instead.

I installed VMware ESX Server 3i 3.5.0 build-123629 on a powerful laptop, Dell Precision, Intel Dual Core 2 Extreme, 4GB RAM, 200GB SATA HDD. It installs without any problems and the main screen recognises the hardware however, the NIC is given an IP address of 0.0.0.0 (Static). I try to modify the IP address by pressing F2 and going to Configure Management Network but it only gives me an option to hit F11 to reset the network config to the factory defaults or Esc to cancel.

I checked the HCL and my NIC - Broadcom 57xx Gigabit is recognised by ESXI.

My knowledge is limited in terms of how I can configure the card and move on from this stand still.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance - LifeOnMars

0 Kudos
24 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

You might want to have a quick review of the Vmware Podcasts.

They can be helpful getting you started.

Check to see that a NIC has been selected in Network Adapters screen.

The NIC series may be on the list but ESXi may not have detected the particular embedded NIC in your laptop.

Have you tried reset to factory?

DHCP is available on your network?

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
lifeonmars
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for your prompt reply DSTAVERT!

I will cjeck out the podcasts thank you. DHCP is enabled on my network, most devices are and I have reset the BIOS to factory defaults and flashed the BIOS too, I ahve also reset the EXSI network seetings too but to no availe.