VMware Cloud Community
wharris12855
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

How do I backup the virtual machines in the free Esxi 3.5

I am new to vmware and virtual systems.  Server has four virtual servers on  it.  It looks like the datastore has taken all the disk space.  How can I backup each virtual machine so I can upgrade the software to Esxi 4.X?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Since you want to backup the VM, chose download. Copy would only create a copy of the file on the datastore which wouldn't make sense as a backup.

Btw. you may want to take a look at Veeam's FastSCP if you want to backup the files by downlaoding them to your local ()or shared) disk.

André

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

to first answer your question about backup. Take a look at e.g. ghettoVCB (http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-8760) for a free backup solution.

Regarding the full datastore. An upgrade to ESXi 4 does not solve this. In most cases a full datastore is caused by snapshots. Please use the datastore browser to find out whether there are vmdk files in the VM's folders with a name like <vmname>-00000x.vmdk.

Which build number of ESXi 3.5 are you running? And how much free disk space do you have on the datastore?

André

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community - The simplest way is just treat them as a physical machine and install a backup agent - being the free version you migh not have the necessary compenents to use tools like Vizioncores vRanger or Veeam Backup

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
wharris12855
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Esxi 3.5.0 Build 113338.  Datastore says it has 12.41Gb free.  I have browsed the datastore and there is 1 vmdk file that is about 17 GB.